April 24, 2009

Destination Gouda

Wednesday's are my day off and now that the weather has been nice I've been going on little bike adventures. Anyone that is actually reading this probably knows that I live in a big (well, big as in just about 600,000 people) modern city, which I love! But by the time Wednesday rolls around I've usually had enough of the city and really feel like seeing some country and all those stereotypical Dutch things one hears about. So, with this feeling I planned a trip to Gouda (yes, like the cheese). Google maps told me that it would be about 25 kilometers (16 miles or so) but it felt like waaaay more. Maybe because I took this really roundabout way and there was lots of wind. But I did finally make it, after stopping to take lots of pictures, read my book (White Oleander), and talk to my new friend, Bart! I finally got there around 4, looked around the center, got a tiny scoop of ice cream, shopped around De NatuurWinkel where I got a sample of cheese (good thing seeing that I was in Gouda!) and then made my way to the train station. I was way to tired and lazy to ride home. Here are some pictures to show off my adventure... 

I tried to explain these little garden houses to my mom. I think a picture might help.

More on the way pictures...


No need to stop to throw your trash away, just toss it in. Why don't we have these in the states?

Famous for it's cheese, Gouda!



So this should have been up with the "on the way" pictures but this one has a story so it gets a special spot down here...So while I was still in Rotterdam, winding along a big lake I passed by this boat that looked like a great (and cute!) photo opportunity. I stopped and asked "Do you mind if I take a picture" I got to talking with the dog's owner, Bart. Bart owns a restaurant in the center, Branco, and thinks I should work there! Apparently it has a FABULOUS terrace that is PERFECT in the summer. He offered me a job within about 2 minutes of meeting me and reminded me a few times to "just come on down whenever you like, you got a job"...

April 18, 2009

Pasen

School holidays mean LOTS of eating! hahaha. :) :)

EGGS!
PANCAKES!
BISCUIT BUNNIES!

Caroline setting up our supplies-

Painting-

I really love Albert Heijn's baking kits. Just add water! It came with everything, even the cookie cutter!


I haven't really mastered the whole pannekoeken thing yet. Timo politely told me that they were to thick (yes, I am American)-


The Dutch word for Easter is Pasen. Every time I think or say it I just automatically think of Passover but I really don't know (because I don't know enough about christianity or Juidaism...I'm sure my dad will have something to say about this!) if the word "Pasen" has anything to do with Passover what so ever. But anyway, from what I saw, Easter here isn't all that different from in the states. They do have this yummy bread here called Paasbrood. It's hard to explain but it's sweet with raisins and this really good sugary almond paste stuff in the middle. Just really good stuff! I'm adding this to the growing list (hagelslag, speculoos, stroopwafles) of foods I'll be bringing back with me.

Friday night I took the train to Utrecht (about 40 minutes by train) to see friends from San Francisco, Drowning With Our Anchors. So nice to see familiar faces. Plus, Utrecht is nice! Gotta go back there soon.

April 12, 2009

Dutch News in English :)

My favorite headlines from the past few weeks-

Scared prisoner sent home...
A 20-year-old man who was remanded in custody on suspicion of manslaughter has been sent home from jail because he is 'shaking with stress', the Telegraaf reports on Wednesday....more

So, next time you find yourself in jail for murder, just tell them you're scared and you want to go home. hahaha.

Midwives should report circumcision...
Initial research indicates three in 1,000 women giving birth in the Netherlands have had their genitals mutilated...more

This figure seems high...does anyone know how this compares to the US? Apparently (I talked to Ineke about it a while back), male circumcision is very uncommon here. I'm waiting for the US to follow Europe's lead here.

Terrorist attack threat remains 'real'...
The Netherlands' presence in Afghanistan and the perceived attacks on Islam in Holland mean that the country is considered a legitimate target by radical Muslim groups, the ministers said in their assessment of the current terror threat...more

Scary!

April 06, 2009

Five in one

Museum Park...

Yes, that is a statue of legs(no torso) in the middle of the park...

Five museums in one day...all free! Thank you Museum Weekend.

1. The Netherlands Architecture Institute
2. The Sonneveld House
3. The Chabot Museum
4. The Natural History Museum
5. The Museum Boijmans Van Beuningen

Notes...

The NAI had a pretty awesome program going on called "Building for Bouwkunde". Here's the story, last year one of the architecture buildings over at the Technological University of Delft burned down. So apparently, a contest was created to find the best new ideas for the new building. There were more than 400 entries from 50 different countries submitted. Probably about 50 are on display at the NAI right now. My favorite was from a group from Australia. Their whole idea centered around the university being housed in trains! I doubt it would ever get chosen or ever actually work well but DUDE! that's an awesome idea. You can see the winners here...


The Sonneveld house was the home of Mr. and Miss. Sonneveld and their 2 daughters back in the 30's. The pamphlet says "Visitors can experience what modern living was like in the year 1933" It goes on to explain how this house in one of the best surviving examples of the "Nieuwe Bouwen" style of architecture. It was pretty cool. I mean, it was nice to see how wealthy, modern people lived here in Rotterdam back that long ago.


The Chabot Museum was boring. I was in and out of that place within 5 minutes. What a waste of a nice house (I feel bad for saying this...maybe I was just too tired and hungry to appreciate the art)

As far as the Natural History Museum goes...it was ok. I was surprised at how small it was. All descriptions and such were in Dutch. Poor me.


The Boijmans Van Beuningen was the coolest! The exhibit titled "Elixir: the video organism of Pipilotti Rist" was awesome. If I could guess how an acid trip would feel while running through a meadow and playing with finger pants, this would be my guess. The different "stations" were all different places you could lay down (on the floor, beds, cushions) and look up at the ceiling where there were weirdo psychedelic videos being projected. CRAZY FUN.


Did you know that this is legal here?

March 28, 2009

Apparently WE are cuter than Berlin....

I must have taken a thousand pictures of US and some how forgot about the beautiful cities we were in. Sorry.

Poffertjes at the Albert Cuyp Market -



Jess' new Dutch friend-


Grandpa's sleeping-


Bringing the Fest to Amsterdam-


Jess came back to Rotterdam to see my new home and fall in love with Sam-


Last time Jess and I were in Europe (in '07) our train rides were filled with listening to The Frey. This time around our thing was Twilight :)-


Street art in Berlin-


We failed at sneaking into this abandoned amusement park-




Checkpoint Charlie-






Berlin in cooler than San Francisco. It's cooler than Barcelona too. It's the coolest thing I've ever experienced in my life...EVER.

March 12, 2009

Still living...(longest post ever!)

First of all, I can't believe more people don't hitch hike! Like, what are people thinking?? PAYING to travel to a location just a couple hours away...NEVER AGAIN (unless I'm with my mom, I wouldn't expect her to hitchhike hahaha). So, needless to say, last weekend went very well.

Lukusz and I started out in Rotterdam...on the on ramp leading to the highway. Our first sign said "Antwerpen" but after realizing people might be a bit "slow" in these parts (kidding, no offense to the locals) we decided to re-right it to say "Breda/Antwerpen". We got many smiles and nods/hand gesture telling us "shucks, I would but I'm not headed there" but within about 15 minutes of standing there someone stopped. We'll call him STIJN, because I really don't know if I ever knew his name. Anyway, Stijn was a pretty nice looking, late 20's Belgian dude, driving a relatively new Mercedes towards Antwerpen but ended up letting us out right before the city at a Shell station that Lukusz had sat at a while back for TWO hours waiting for a ride...I was hoping for better luck!

Luck DID come. Our next driver, who was maybe the 5th car that past us, stopped within 5 minutes. We'll call him Zaher (I just looked up "Moroccan name" in google). Zaher was an older Moroccan man, living 6 months in Holland/6 months in Morocco, on his way to his brother's (I think) in Brussels. Zaher was clearly a fan of clean cars and LOUD weird Indian sounding club music. Anyway, although our sign said "Gent", since Zaher was willing to take us to Brussels and because our destination, Aalst, was between Brussels and Gent, we thought... hey why not spend a couple hours exploring the capital? And that's what we did! We walked around the city, ate BELGIAN chocolate, and got a little lost. Finding a good place to wait for a ride was a little funny! Yes, we were in the center of the city but when I asked people "excuse me, which direction is Gent" all they could do was look at me like I was crazy and say "GENT?? Gent is faaaar" Ok, I knew Gent was far but that really didn't answer my question. I then started lying to people "Hello, I have a car, right over there, I want to DRIVE to Gent, can you tell me which direction the highway to Gent is"...maybe it's because they're French (j/k) in Brussels but they were totally NOT helpful.

Our next driver, "Pieter", drove a new yellow beetle, possibly gay, very nice guy. He couldn't understand why we could ever want to go to Aalst though. By this time I had started up another lie (small, white lies)..."yeah, we're visiting old friends" just to keep it simple. After getting dropped off in Aalst and realizing that we were at least 4 hours early for the show, we decided to explore the town. Aalst must be the shoe shopping capital of the country, SO many shoe stores. I found a book store and decided to buy Twilight, even though I feel really weird reading a teen vampire book. We then spent our extra time at 3 different cafe/bars until it was time to head over to the club.


The show- pretty good. Small bar, but fun. 5 bands which for me = getting tired. But the band we went to see, Vogue, played last and definitely made the wait worth it. We stayed with a guy named Jonas (his name I actually know!) in Gent. Which was really nice because we were able to just get up in the morning and start exploring the city. We didn't do much...I took a few pictures, we walked around and then found a nice little vegan cafe for lunch.

I had to take a picture of this guy (with the beanie) because he reminded Lukusz and I of someone else.


"Blind" guys making a movie.

Maybe it was because it was Sunday or maybe because the weather wasn't quite as nice but today we weren't as lucky when it came to rides. "Christof" picked us up next. He drove a cute little mini cooper (gay again?). He dropped us off at a gas station between Gent and Antweren but not before stopping at a different gas station and offering to buy us a drink, which I was happy to accept (I'm too cheap to buy OJ for myself). Our next stop worried me. Christof let us off at a random ass gas station with very little traffic. We sat (well, I sat, Lukusz stood with the sign) feeling discouraged for about 15 minutes. But then! a car stopped...I was so excited, I jumped up, got my bag and then looked in the window to see 2 people I knew!! It was the singer of Vogue with his girlfriend, on their way to his parents house for his birthday, which was NOT on our way but seeing that anywhere HAD to be better than here, we got in. Weeeell, I was wrong! Where they let us off was probably the worst place 2 people could EVER wait for a ride to Rotterdam!! I joked that maybe I should make a sign saying "anywhere but here!" We ended up getting a ride with old "Benard" and his dog "Pookie". It was the ride with Benard that I really got my little speech perfected "Well, he's Polish, I'm American, we're both living in Holland right now...just visiting old friends in Gent...and no, we are not students". He drove us about 10 minutes, right to the north side of Antwerpen and dropped us off literally on the side of the highway. We walked to the exit, crossed to the other side, and stood on the on ramp, right by the McDonalds. This is where "Anke" and "Augustijn" found us. They drove us all the way from there to Rotterdam and even shared their fries :) how nice! Home by 8pm!

Yeah so, that's about it I guess.

The coming week is going to be amazing. I'm meeting Jess at the airport in Amsterdam. We're staying in Amsterdam 3 nights and then training to Berlin where we will stay about 4 nights. Jess is bringing me the next two Twilight books (thanks dad!) and SOURDOUGH BREAD. YAY!!! Loads of pictures to come.

*All names, except Lukusz, Vogue, Jess, and Jonas are made up. Just to let you know.

March 01, 2009

Super Nanny

Monday and Tuesday the cousins were over...5 kids!! It was fun.


Allthough I thought it was going to be crazy, having the kids home from school meant we got to do lots of fun stuff...
Monday- miniature rail museum and the park
Tuesday- Ballorig (huge indoor playground)
Wednesday- my day off = slept a lot and found a "toasti" restaurant + my class was canceled because of the holiday...yay.
Thursday- Despereaux in Dutch
Friday- Bolt in Dutch + American pancakes :)

Oh no, I just remembered that I bought a brownie mix and totally forgot to make them with the kids...bummer.